Show us your graphs

Distillation methods and improvements.

Moderator: Site Moderator

EventfulAnimal
Novice

Show us your graphs

Post by EventfulAnimal »

Newbie here, using a pot still over a 60 litre boiler. Meticulously gathering and graphing data from my first rum runs has been a great way for me to get a feel for the system.

I couldn't find a thread dedicated to interesting or educative data viz, so here goes. This one is a very simple graph of distillate volume (ml), vapor temp (C) and ABV (%) as a function of t.

It was a 50 litre rum wash with 2400W element.

Pikey
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Show us your graphs

Post by Pikey »

I like that :)

I think most of us keep records, especially for the first few of a new recipe, but graphing them certainly gives a good "feel" as you say.

Did you use a parrot ? or were your abv's discrete measurements ?

I'd like to see your individual measurements annotated as "points" on your graphs, and I'd like to see what happened when you got to 100 C - I find I'm still getting low abv's at that point (5-10%) whereas in theory it should be zero.

Great idea though - look forward to seeing more 8)

[EDIT - Interesting too that step in your volume line and return to the same slope during the second hour - I'd like to see if that is just a "Blip" or if it repeats on further trials. :thumbup: ]
NZChris
Master of Distillation

Post by NZChris »

I've graphed a few, but haven't kept them. Changes in the rates on the graphs were always associated with external influences such as the opening or closing of a door causing changes in heat loss. The thermometer in the vapor always showed the most change.

If you note the times of significant events during the run, you should be able to correlate them with changes on the graph.
Bushman
Admin

Post by Bushman »