All-grain hefeweizen recipe?

Alcoholic beverages which are not classified as spirits.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Lawfish
Bootlegger

All-grain hefeweizen recipe?

Post by Lawfish »

When I started brewing again about a year and a half ago, I started with my favorite beer, a hefeweizen. I had no all-grain experience, so I used 6 lbs. of DME and 1 oz. of Hallertau. 60 minute boil, into the carboy, pitch (Safale wb-06), ferment, into the keg, drink. Lather, rinse, repeat. This made a classic and excellent hefe.

So now I've converted to all-grain brewing and my ales have come out exquisite, except for my hefe. The new grain bill is 5 lbs. Pilsner and 5 lbs. malted wheat. Mash for 60 minutes at 156 (to maximize dextrines and sweetness). I've tried lower mash temps too, but it always comes out nearly white in color and virtually tasteless. None of that delicious sweetness I always got with the DME. I've considered adding some specialty malts, but all the go-to recipes are about the same grain bill I've been using. Classic hefe doesn't use any specialty grains.

Any suggestions here?
Lawfish

Homebrewer turned distiller
homebrewer007
Novice

Re: All-grain hefeweizen recipe?

Post by homebrewer007 »

I know this is an old question, but since no one answered it I figured others may have the same question.