Want to make a scotch

All styles of whiskey. This is for all-grain mashes.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Canuckwoods
Swill Maker

Want to make a scotch

Post by Canuckwoods »

I've been making HBB UJSSM and vodka/gin for a couple of years and want to try Scotch. I have researched but haven't found a good recipe so thought I would try my own.

for a 5 gallon batch
5.5 gallons of water
5 lbs Canadain Maltings 2 row
5 lbs Fawcett & sons peated malt
mash around 145*f
strip and spirit runs
toasted and charred oak (new, I wish I had known I would have saved the sticks out of my other) and maybe a tsp/qt of sherry

am I on the right track?
MichiganCornhusker
retired

Re: Want to make a scotch

Post by MichiganCornhusker »

Well, my feelings are that a scotch style whiskey is one of the easiest to make, and one of the trickiest to get right.
Fermenting a beer wort and distilling it is pretty straight forward, but it's what happens then that makes the big differences.

I think freshly toasted and/or charred oak is the wrong tool for aging. It just makes the spirit taste way too much like a bourbon.
Also, just adding some sherry to the blend isn't the same as using oak that has been soaking in sherry.

And then there's the cuts.
Personally, I think a good scotch, especially if it's not a big smokey peat-monster, should have a good pour of fruity heads added to the final blend, hold back on the tails.

For your aging oak, maybe try doing a toast/char, and then age the wood in the heads from your run. Maybe even add some sherry to that jar.
Then pull the wood and use it for your scotch.

Or even before you put it in with the heads, try boiling some of it in water too leech some of those delicious oak flavors out of the wood.
I love a great strong oak character in my corn whiskeys, but I think it's overwhelming in a nice barley hooch.
Just thinking out loud here, I don't do a whole lot of scotch.