First corn whiskey mash - any good?

All styles of whiskey. This is for all-grain mashes.

Moderator: Site Moderator

TheJollyBrewer
Novice

First corn whiskey mash - any good?

Post by TheJollyBrewer »

Hi guys, I'm new to stillin (only run three) but have been full mash beer making for over 20 years. I'm looking to make my first corn whiskey mash this weekend and wanted to get peoples opinions of what I'm planning as it differs quite a bit from normal beer brewing. The easiest form of corn for me to get is flaked maize (I have 18kg). But I've read that this has less flavour than whole or cracked corn. So I was thinking of adding some frozen sweetcorn and cornflakes. Can you have a look at this and let me know what you think and if you'd recommend any changes?

30 litres (8US gallons approx)
7 litres (1.85 US Gallons) backset from sugarshine from spent grains from last beer mash (all pale malt)
6kg flaked corn (13 lb)
500g cornflakes (1.1 lb)
500g flaked rye (1.1 lb)
1kg sweetcorn (2.2 lb)
2kg Pale ale malt (4.4 lb)

Mix all corns and rye with 30 litres (10 US gallons) of boiling water and boiling backset and add high temperature enzyme. Insulate and allow to drop to 63ºC (145ºF) then add barley malt. Wrap up again and allow to drop to 25-27ºC (77-80ºF) then aerate with hand held blender and add still spirits whiskey yeast which has enzymes - amyloglucosidase enzyme (AG). Aiming for an og of about 1.065 - 70

Notes: I'll belnd up the sweetcorn and crush the cornflakes before mashing with the rye and flaked maize.

This is the yeast

https://www.lovebrewing.co.uk/whisky-pu ... ing-yeast/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow
Twisted Brick
Master of Distillation

Re: First corn whiskey mash - any good?

Post by Twisted Brick »

Flaked corn is already pre-gelatinized so doesn't need to see boiling temps. (190F is good). It will thicken up considerably, and try to apply your HT enzyme at it's optimum temp. This may help explain some stuff.