Infusing botanicals

All things to do with making of gin

Moderator: Site Moderator

Swampgin
Novice

Infusing botanicals

Post by Swampgin »

I’m running a 50l boiler with a 2” reflux column and controlling the heat with a PID. I’m new to this and the first couple of batches I ran straight with no botanicals. Last night I dropped a little bag of juniper, coriander, citrus etc in the top of the column just below the outlet. Dres off a quart and changed the bag for a different mix but maybe over loaded it as it puked when I wasn’t looking and resulted in a pinkish cloudy output. (I guess this is what happened). I’m running it again now and seems to be going fine.
Question- This doesn’t seem to be be how most people here do it. I gather it’s more common to put the botanicals at the base of the column rather than the top? Is what I’m doing OK?
Also does carbon filtering strip out this flavour? If so do I just skip the filtering?
Thanks
NZChris
Master of Distillation

Re: Infusing botanicals

Post by NZChris »

You've assumed that we know what you are doing, but I sure don't and from what you did tell us, I suspect most of what you have done is nothing that would ever happen in my shed :roll:

Slow down and do some research before you start your next project. (Hint: watching Youtube is entertainment, not research).
Swampgin
Novice

Post by Swampgin »

Hello Kiwichrismasterdistiller
My experience has taught me that the best research is ‘doing’. Reading really makes no sense until it has a context ie how does a still behave? What do fore shots smell like etc. I’ve never gone on a forum before because they seem to me to be populated by people dying to prove their superiority.
Not sure how long I’ll last on this one.
NZChris
Master of Distillation

Post by NZChris »