Orujo, Grappa, Pomace Brandy

Moderator: Site Moderator

Ftero
Bootlegger

Orujo, Grappa, Pomace Brandy

Post by Ftero »

As the subject suggests, it's all essentially the same thing. In Spain it's Aguardiente de Orujo, or just Orujo for short. In Italy it's Grappa. Technically I believe it all to be a Pomace Brandy.

There are not a lot of informative posts that I can find on the web regarding it's small-scale production. I find interesting tidbits in many articles and videos. Like making chocolate chip cookies, every cook has their own favorite procedure. I hope that a little of what I write here is useful to some novice.

I've been making Orujo for the last 10 years or so in my small, 30 liter, alembic pot still. Typically I load the pot with the pomace on top of a copper grid that is elevated about 2cm from the pot base which keeps the pomace from making direct contact and burning. I load the pot about 3/4 full with the pomace, pressing it down lightly so that it doesn't get blown up into the cap while distilling.

Usually, I then fill the pot to about 1/2 way with cold water. Some people do the same with the heads and tails from previous runs. Others use wine. This year the pomace that I got had very little juice and alcohol in it, as the vinyard used a hydraulic press and squoze the bejeesus out of it. I had access to some wine, so I decided to use it to charge the pot in stead of water.

I did a stripping run as per usual. I started to run the cooling water @ 75C. I ran it fairly hard, and the first continuous stream of distillate after the fore-shots started at 82% abv, and I stopped running @ 92C when the abv was at 20%. With the recitfying lentil on my still, I get about 7% abv higher to start off with compared to running without it.