Stupid Question.......Maybe

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

sltm1
Site Donor
Site Donor

Stupid Question.......Maybe

Post by sltm1 »

1st of all, if this is in the wrong thread please feel free to move it. Now, I've been running a pot still and thumper for 5 yrs give or take and I've done some experimenting and fell in love with UJ and my journey stopped there. I've never given any thought to another still arrangement but, naturally have read a boat load on neutrals here and how to make them but no one has ever presented the following idea. If I was to run a straight sugar shine with a bit of tomato paste through my rig, would that be a "neutral" flavor? My wife likes to make small batches of amaretto and kahlua as X-mas gifts and she uses store bought vodka, thought maybe I could save her a trip to the store and make her presents totally home made.
A Paraphrase of a Joe Walsh Album Title, "The Drinkier I get, The Smokier I Play!!"
Every new member should read this before doing anything else:
ben stiller
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Stupid Question.......Maybe

Post by ben stiller »

Take a look at Birdwatchers recipe. You just described it, but to be neutral you will need to either run it many times to get close or
run it through a reflux still.
ShineonCrazyDiamond
Global moderator

Post by ShineonCrazyDiamond »

Okay. So I might be going around getting all the neutral heads all worked up today, but by god I'm just stating my personal experiences :lol: . So here we go.

I made a neutral this summer. Not a perfect neutral, but a ccvm vodka pouring out at azeo from hearts to tails. It was a piggy back to a bourbon bill, crow, actually. Straight hearts. It was as neutral as I will ever need, straight ethanol sweetness. I put it in a bottle and brought it to butch's this summer.