Temperature with Pot Still

Putting older posts here. Going to try to keep the novice forum pruned about 90 days work. The 'good' old stuff is going to be put into appropriate forums.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Swampdrop
Novice

Temperature with Pot Still

Post by Swampdrop »

Hi All,

I’m new to distilling and did my first run today with my pot still. I have spent the last few months reading everything I can get my hands on and I have found this forum a wealth of information. I have a question regarding temperatures. I have read that a lot of people don’t keep track of the temperature that their still is running at citing that it is too inaccurate and that every still is different. I have a thermometer on my still and I was keeping track of it today when my still was running. I checked the temperature of the liquid in the still just prior to the first drips starting to come out and the temp was 85c. I thought that methanol would have come off the liquid at a lower temp then this. The temperature stabilised in the 90’s c and I assume this is the heads, hearts and tails. I kept running the still and collected several litres of distillate in separate containers and stopped collecting when it dropped below 30%. Should I be concerned that my still only started to produce the first drops of distillate at 85c? I thought that the process would have started at a lower temp?
Dnderhead
Angel's Share
Angel's Share

Re: Temperature with Pot Still

Post by Dnderhead »

if that is boiler temperature it will vary with the percentage of alcohol that is in the wash.
if it is vapor temperature it will clime as the alcohol is depleted.
Husker
retired

Post by Husker »

Swamp,