The next morning, I had no headache???

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

beerbaron
Novice

The next morning, I had no headache???

Post by beerbaron »

I’m still new at distilling, just did one batch a few months ago. One thing that I noticed is that my spirits doesn’t give me a headache. I went camping a few weeks ago and did a test on my spirits. I had 1 “store bought bottle” of rum and 3 bottles of my own distilled rum. The first day I drank the store bought rum. The next morning, I had a headache. Day 2 I drank my rum. The next morning no headache, but I was a bit dry. Day 3 and 4 the same as day 2.

Is any body experiencing the same thing or did I just get lucky with my first batch?
Austin Nichols
Rumrunner

Re: The next morning, I had no headache???

Post by Austin Nichols »

I'm new at the game too, and experiencing the same phenomenon for the last 6 weeks :mrgreen:

AL.
kiwistiller
retired

Post by kiwistiller »

Yup, that'll happen, welcome to the home distillers no-hangover club :)
Three sheets to the wind!
My stuff
Kentucky shinner
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Kentucky shinner »

I have never had a headache from my spirits. I have woke up still drunk but never had a headache.
Ayay
Distiller

Post by Ayay »

Beware...your GOOD homestilled hooch does not punish you with a headache. Therefore it is easier to over-indulge with only a few warning signs...slight loss of balance or a slight stumbling means enough drinkin has bin done that night. Plain fuzziness next mornin or wakin up pissed is sign of too much the night before.

I learned to regulate things between 5pm and 10pm. That's 5 hours of drinkin time. Never before 5pm...a modification of my pappy's rule of never before 10am. Never after 10pm iff'n I go sleep at 12pm...gives 2 hrs for cooling off cos of bad dreams!