HEATER CONTROL 3000 WATT

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Ernie62
Novice

HEATER CONTROL 3000 WATT

Post by Ernie62 »

I have been an Elect. Eng for over 40 years and every day I learn how little I know another 20 years and I will be quite stupid.
Well anyway I have been using controlers for a lot of years and this is what I desighed and made many times It can also take 220vac
120vac heater controler
120vac heater controler
120vac 3000w heater control.png (15.18 KiB) Viewed 1226 times
All parts are easy to get If you have any questions I will be glad to help
HDNB
Site Mod

Re: HEATER CONTROL 3000 WATT

Post by HDNB »

so not being an engineer, i'm curious.

what is the cap and resistor for on each side if the pot?

Is that a symbol for a rectifier bridge infront of the triac? purpose? ...i thought it took 4 diodes to make the ac to dc conversion to control a triac.

why would you supply one leg 120vac unfused to the boiler element?

would it not make sense to just put a breaker, or a gfi breaker in front of the whole works and do away with the fuse on the one 120 leg?

"outputpower" is an ammeter?

i need an explanation with all the fancy symbols to help it make sense...could you describe the circuit for the layman to better understand?

Thanks! i need more knowledge here!
I finally quit drinking for good.

now i drink for evil.
Ernie62
Novice

Post by Ernie62 »

All are great questions
The cap and resistor set up the charge discharge for the timing to turn on and off the triac
the two diodes are some as buying a diac which are hare to find and this is easy In real live this is a protect circuit
you are plugging this into your house current which already has a gfi and you do not want to put one in line with another as for fusing only one leg of 110 You always fuse only the hot side the other side is neutral your house is wired the same way