Fermentation help?

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Leatherface
Novice

Fermentation help?

Post by Leatherface »

I started a neutral wash two weeks ago. My starting specific gravity was 1073, it has been bubbling the air lock kinda slowly for the last week. It is at 1060 now and seems to be still working but very slow. I'm using a ferm wrap and the temp has been about 85f consistently. Is this normal? This is my first try, recipe I used is below
8lbs white sugar
2lbsbrown sugar
1lb raisins
1pack D47 wine yeast
Distilled water , 6 gallons total after all ingredients
I'm not sure if I should be concerned or just keep waiting
Thanks
HDNB
Site Mod

Re: Fermentation help?

Post by HDNB »

get concerned.

get some bread yeast and make a nice starter.

add it to wash after you have stirred in some sort of nutrient. maybe a bit of tomato paste if you have some.
I finally quit drinking for good.

now i drink for evil.
Leatherface
Novice

Post by Leatherface »

HDNB wrote:get concerned.

get some bread yeast and make a nice starter.

add it to wash after you have stirred in some sort of nutrient. maybe a bit of tomato paste if you have some.
How much yeast and tomato paste for a 6 gallon batch? Thanks for the advice!
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation
Location: where the buffalo roam, and the deer & antelope play

Post by still_stirrin »

Leatherface wrote:How much yeast and tomato paste for a 6 gallon batch? Thanks for the advice!
This much: http://homedistiller.org/forum/viewtopi ... 96&t=47486
My LM/VM & Potstill: My build thread
My Cadco hotplate modification thread: Hotplate Build
My stock pot gin still: stock pot potstill
My 5-grain Bourbon recipe: Special K
NZChris
Master of Distillation

Post by NZChris »

Leatherface wrote:Distilled water
Distilled water is nutrient and mineral free. It is a danger to your health, and to the health of your yeast, without appropriate supplements.
jb-texshine