Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

brad
Novice

Post by brad »

Hi folks,

I'm new to distilling and have some questions.

To get started i just done a simple sugar wash with raisins.

My first question is how should i flavor this? I'm just looking for something simple.

This is what i found.

http://www.wideopeneats.com/recipes/van ... moonshine/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow

I was planing on doing a stripping run followed by a spirit run. I have the grainfather with an alembic copper pot.

Thanks!

btw "Serve with a splash of half-and-half and sprinkle with sea salt." what does this mean?
TDick
Distiller

Re: Newbie

Post by TDick »

brad wrote:Hi folks,
My first question is how should i flavor this? I'm just looking for something simple.
This is what i found.
http://www.wideopeneats.com/recipes/van ... moonshine/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow
Thanks!
btw "Serve with a splash of half-and-half and sprinkle with sea salt." what does this mean?
Welcome from a fellow N :mrgreen: :mrgreen: B.
First suggestion is it sounds like you have a LOT of reading to do.
1. Parent Site
2. Cranky's Spoonfeed - A lot of the old farts are very proud of that thread and frankly, get a little agitated if Noobs like you and me don't pay our dues. You will find everyone has read those two items, unless they are total dickheads. I ASSuME you are NOT a dickhead.
3. After that reading, go to Tried & True Recipes: http://homedistiller.org/forum/viewforum.php?f=14

Good news is your plan calls for flavoring a neutral spirit. You will actually find that on the Parent Site but you should also scan the T&T for something you are interested in. You could bring a recipe from another source and ask for help. That would just delay you and some grumpy Members would refer you back to T&T. Save yourself some time.

That's about it for me. Good luck & WELCOME!