Sweet distillate

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

mcoops
Novice

Sweet distillate

Post by mcoops »

Hi guys
I’m relatively new to distilling but learning more every day. I started distilling last year with a 3gal Chinese pot still but I recently bought a T500 reflux still. I’ve distilled a number of sugar washes with the T500 using wine yeast and tomato paste and all have gone well and recovered a high abv.
For my latest wash I decided to see what the fuss was about by using the Still spirits Classic turbo yeast and carbon and turbo clear. The fermentation started with a very high SG as it said it would give 20% alcohol. The fermentation went OK but stopped at SG 1.09. I tried adding some water and stirring the wash but it didn’t ferment any lower. I used the Turbo clear and it cleared the wash perfectly overnight. I then ran the wash at 49’ in the T500. The distillate came off at 90% and I recovered just over 4lts at 90% ABV from 22ltr wash. My problem is that I didn’t expect distillate to taste sweet. I expect its probably because I hadn’t fermented down enough.
What can I do now with the distillate, do I just throw it away and start a fresh or is there something I can do to rescue it?
Cheers for any suggestions…
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation
Location: where the buffalo roam, and the deer & antelope play

Re: Sweet distillate

Post by still_stirrin »

I’d blend it back with more low wines and rerun through the reflux still. It might reduce the sugar sweetness in the neutral spirit. I wouldn’t dump it because you’ve produced some alcohol OK.

You could always use it to make a panty dropper too, where the residual sweetness is appropriate.

Experiment....you can do this.
ss
My LM/VM & Potstill: My build thread
My Cadco hotplate modification thread: Hotplate Build
My stock pot gin still: stock pot potstill
My 5-grain Bourbon recipe: Special K
gwizard
Novice

Post by gwizard »