Shoot It

Simple pot still distillation and construction with or without a thumper.

Moderator: Site Moderator

StillLearning1
Trainee

Shoot It

Post by StillLearning1 »

So I'm close to starting my thumper build. My plans right now include a way to "shoot it" to add flavor after the heads. I've read about people doing this on here but its usually pretty vague. So do you guys do it? Is it worth plumbing in?What do you usually use to shoot with?
But what the heck do I know.....I am still learning.
jedneck
Site Donor
Site Donor
Location: drive to the sticks, hang a right past the sticks amd go a couple more miles.

Re: Shoot It

Post by jedneck »

WooTeck wrote:shoot it?
Run your still like normal. Then after you are past the fores and heads, you kill the heat and add something to the thump for flavour. That way you don't lose flavour in the heads.
welcome aboard some of us are ornery old coots but if you do a lot of
reading and don't ask stupid questions you'll be alright most are
big help
Dunder
LWTCS
Site Mod

Post by LWTCS »

Goose eye prolly is the only one here qualified to offer instruction on this technique.
Hopefully he will chime.
Trample the injured and hurdle the dead.
WooTeck
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by WooTeck »

ahh thats cool. makes sense now that i think about it
ShineRunnah
Swill Maker

Post by ShineRunnah »

Never heard of the term "shoot it" before, but I've made some flavored vodka in a similar fashion.

I run the fores and heads, cut heat off and hook up the thumper.

If you cut heat with the thumper hooked up, you'll suck whatever is in the thumper back into the boiler. Not a huge deal in most cases, though I've seen copper boilers collapse from the vacuum.

Normally I'm adding coffee or fruit, etc as a way to flavor vodka, sometimes into the charge, others using a sort of false bottom (think of making the whole thumper into a gin basket) and occasionally both. I suppose you could use just about anything to add flavor though.