Pot still technology?

Simple pot still distillation and construction with or without a thumper.

Moderator: Site Moderator

bluc
Site Donor
Site Donor

Pot still technology?

Post by bluc »

Ok so theres thumpers and onions and vertically angled lyn arms, am i right in thinking that these are all types of reflux inducing devices? I realise there are other uses for a thumper like adding flavour.

And how do these work at seperating the fractions and compressing heads and tails.
Does one create a "cleaner" product than the other. I dont mean higher proof i mean less smearing of fractions.
ShineRunner
Swill Maker

Re: Pot still technology?

Post by ShineRunner »

I can address a little of this. I know onions and long tapered Lyne arms are meant to induce a little reflux to a pot still, but the general concensus on here is that they're of little use on the hobby scale. I don't think they change the fractions or smearing at all, but I have no actual experience with them.

As for a thumper, it doesn't really cause reflux, but it can be considered a partial redistillation. Think of it as a single plate on a pot. Read up on how they work, but it's basically like 1.5x run. As for separating fractions, I can say that when I started using my thumper, I noticed a couple things. The proof tended to stay a little higher for longer and then dropped quickly, instead of a steady slow decline in proof. Second, I find that my cuts are more distinct than without the thumper. Almost always within 1 jar that is clearly not wanted and the next is good.

Try some things out and let us know. This is how our hobby is advanced..

SR
Bushman
Admin

Post by Bushman »

When you slow down flow we consider it passive reflux your not really compressing your product as through the use of a reflux condenser.
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation
Location: where the buffalo roam, and the deer & antelope play

Post by still_stirrin »