First thumper run. I have ??

Simple pot still distillation and construction with or without a thumper.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Tenkillsmore
Novice

First thumper run. I have ??

Post by Tenkillsmore »

Hello, I have been running a 5 gal still for a few years now. I always get around 70-75% abv in the first jar then it drops down some each jar after. I ran a thumper aprox 1 gal for the first time, I put fruit punch in for flavor. The first jar came out clear but it was only 42% abv then it started to come out cloudy. I am pretty sure it was cloudy because I ran it too hot. [please correct me if I am wrong] But I also thought maybe some of the color from the juice might of made it cloudy, but if that was the case then the first jar should of been cloudy as well? am I thinking right on that? I also lost most of the liquid from the thumper but from research on this forum I am sure it was suck back that caused that. I also read here that using a thumper should increase the abv not lower it. Can anyone tell me what happened to the abv % ? thanks.
A backpack full of Moonshine beats a pocket full of Sunshine any time.
seabass
Rumrunner

Re: First thumper run. I have ??

Post by seabass »

Need more info. What were you making? What was the abv in the boiler?
Hambone
Rumrunner

Post by Hambone »

Low boiler charge with no alcohol in thump?
Good judgement is the result of experience.

Experience is usually the result of bad judgement..
Tenkillsmore
Novice

Post by Tenkillsmore »

I was running a fruit punch mash I made with a drink powder and white sugar, that was just over 12 on the hydro meter when done. I had put a can of concentrated fruit punch with 1/2 can water in the thumper.[ I also read here that might of been a bit shy on volume for the thumper] I was trying to make a fruity flavored shine, the flavor part worked well, lots of fruit flavor just no punch.
Hambone
Rumrunner

Post by Hambone »

It was 12 brix when "done"?

Tummydoc
Site Donor
Site Donor