Column plans, help needed

Vapor, Liquid or Cooling Management. Flutes, plates, etc.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Wooaamm
Novice

Column plans, help needed

Post by Wooaamm »

I'm planning to build my first still at the moment. It would be silly to buy all these expensive pieces and not be able to use them, so I'm looking for some feedback. I'm gonna be making neutral spirit to start off, with an offset-head still. I'm primarily concerned with time issues, because I can't really do marathon 12 hr distilling sessions. I've only messed about with a crappy still before so I have no real experience with it. But I guess stripping every wash will make it easier to time manage. If anyone has a similar build, how long does it take for you to complete a wash from start to finish? Am I way off with some of the variables here? It would help immensely! This is what I had in mind for the build (based it off http://homedistiller.org/image/matt_headandcolumn.jpg):

- Large 50L keg (or some other +- 50L container my uncle would weld together for me)
- Two heating elements, I'm thinking two times 1.5kW but not sure there. Fire up both for heating and one for equalizing and taking off product
- Copper 54 mm (2") column
- 1 - 1,2 m SS packing
- Column connected to both boiler and head with thread connections. They won't cost me that much more and it will be easier to clean or convert to potstill mode

I'm still missing a thermometer (haven't decided which one) and and needle valve (I found a €30 one and it's the cheapest I could find for this purpose, but I'm still looking). Thoughts?
shadylane
Master of Distillation

Re: Column plans, help needed

Post by shadylane »

Thoughts?
Build the pot with a fill and drain.
Use only one heater with a phase angle controller.
Use tri-clamps instead of threaded connectors.
Use a slant plate or two cups still head instead of an off-set.
thatguy1313
Distiller

Post by thatguy1313 »