Small surface area boiler and it's effect on column size

Vapor, Liquid or Cooling Management. Flutes, plates, etc.

Moderator: Site Moderator

PaulL
Novice

Small surface area boiler and it's effect on column size

Post by PaulL »

Hi All,
First off a disclaimer - I'm totally new to distilling and don't even have a still yet - I'm still trying to wrap my head around basic concepts, so go easy on me if this is a dumb question! :) Really quick question : Does the surface area of the boiler effect the choice of column diameter? I'm assuming that the smaller the surface area in the boiler letting off the vapors, the smaller diameter of column I want to use. Would that be a correct assumption? I want to make a very very small still, with a boiler surface area of roughly 6 inches.

Any and all comments welcome!

Cheers,
Paul
NZChris
Master of Distillation

Re: Small surface area boiler and it's effect on column size

Post by NZChris »

The smaller the surface area, the greater the amount of particulates that travel up the column.
DAD300
Master of Distillation

Post by DAD300 »

PaulL...

You have to worry more about the column dia in relation to amount of vapor, not boiler surface.

Surface area at the top of the boiler, in itself will have no impact on the amount of vapor coming off the pot. There have been experiments that show this. The amount of vapor coming off the boiler is due to energy and efficiency (btu's, how energy is applied to the boiler and insulation).

Very large still boilers that have columns off the still, use proportionally small pipes to transfer the vapor to the column.

Even a 200-300 gallon still will use only a 3"-4" transfer pipe to move the vapor. Now, using a small tube to transfer the vapor will cause other problems. Vapor speed could be very high when the vapor reached the column. So the column dia has to be right.