Question about my boka

Vapor, Liquid or Cooling Management. Flutes, plates, etc.

Moderator: Site Moderator

jabrone
Novice

Question about my boka

Post by jabrone »

I've been running a boka with a 2" column for a couple of years now. Overall I've been pleased with the results. Yesterday, I was doing a run and the abv was a bit lower than I'd expect (about 90%). I surfed around on this forum and ran across an old thread where someone suggested to increase the heat in the boiler. I did that and it was the first time I'd ever really seen what the still could do. The abv increased right away and it stayed that way until the end where it suddenly and dramatically dropped off.

Probably a real novice question but why does increasing the heat in the boiler help increase the abv of the product? Seems counter-intuitive. Just curious and would love to know why.
StillerBoy
Master of Distillation

Re: Question about my boka

Post by StillerBoy »

You don't mention the take-off rate, nor the amount power used.. the rate of take-off has a direct effect on the purity level by reducing the reflux occurring in the column.. power effect the amount of vapour produced in the column for refluxing.. with a LM setup (which is what a boka is), the more refluxing within reason, with a reduced take-off rate, the higher the purity level abv..
jabrone wrote:Probably a real novice question but why does increasing the heat in the boiler help increase the abv of the product? Seems counter-intuitive. Just curious and would love to know why.
This line of thinking apply for a pot still setup.. the pot in manage by the power used to maintain the amount of take-off, which in turn the purity level.. where in a LM setup, power and take-off are manage in relation to each other to provide the purity level abv..

Mars
" I know quite certainly that I myself have no special talent. Curiosity, Obsession and dogged endurance, combined with self-criticism, have brought me to my knowledge and understanding "