I need some help

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

ineedadrink
Novice

I need some help

Post by ineedadrink »

hey everyone i am new to the shine game so i have a few ??? but first this is my wash or mash ( i dont know what the diff is lol)
5 lbs corn mill cooked in 2.5 gal water just long enough that the spoon will almost stand up in it on its own added 4 lbs sugar mixed
well and added 2.5 gal of water when temps lowered to 96 deg. added 3 packs bakers yeast all put in an ice chest with a loose but airtight lid
i bubbled for a day then stopped it would not do anything after that but could smell the yeast so yesterday ( day 6 ) i slowly mixed it up with a spoon
it bubbled for a while then stopped again, now day 7 it has a very thin film of some sorts ( mainly clear and white ).
now my ??... is that film mold or is that normal ? and also, if it is ok how do i know when it is ready to be distill ?
ga flatwoods
Master of Distillation

Re: I need some help

Post by ga flatwoods »

Ineedadrink, indeed you need to read, and study. When making up a witch's brew, who cares if its muddy!?
Today's homework: read tried and true recipes, look up definition of wash, mash, and hydrometer, and be prepared to tell us what the heat up accomplished for you. Come back after recess ready to discuss.
And Welcome! Answers to your basic questions are all here awaiting you, and LOTS MORE! Enjoy the ride.
GA Flatwoods
The hardest item to add to a bottle of shine is patience!
I am still kicking.
Ga Flatwoods
ineedadrink
Novice

Post by ineedadrink »

i was under the impression that a mash was fermenting with grains and wash is with sugar this was a simple recipe of a few diff. web pages i just doubled it.