New from SC

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

WillytheScotchman
Novice

New from SC

Post by WillytheScotchman »

Hello everyone!
I am very new to distilling, in fact I haven't even made my first run. I am gearing up and learning all I can. I am going to mash in within the next week or so. I am just going to do a cracked corn and sugar wash my first time. I think if I can get my corn cooked down to a nice and gooey, starchy goodness - I should be able to add a bit of quality raw cane sugar and let it cool down to the proper temperature so I can pitch my yeast and a little bit of amylase to convert those starches and if the alcohol gods are willing I may make a decent first batch of likker. I do believe I have everything I need and I am hoping to get some positive feedback and learn as much as I can from everyone here. The best thing I have going for me is my willingness to admit that I don't know a whole lot about what I'm doing here and I am looking to become a seasoned distiller with your help. I love to learn and I realize that making liquor is a lot of Hands-On trial and error stuff. Once I get good at a pretty basic sugar wash I plan on malting all my grains and learning how to do things the best way I possibly can and with the best ingredients.

Cheers!!!
BlackStrap
Swill Maker

Re: New from SC

Post by BlackStrap »

Welcome to the forum WillytheScotchman :wave:

You are able to find a lot of information in the parent site http://homedistiller.org/ the novice (even though you seem to have some understanding with this one, http://homedistiller.org/forum/viewforum.php?f=46 it is still good to read... and some general rules we as a forum follow http://homedistiller.org/forum/viewtopi ... =35&t=5090