Senior Citizen wanting to begin the hobby

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

SnuffyG
Novice

Senior Citizen wanting to begin the hobby

Post by SnuffyG »

Hello to all you distilling folks. I'm a 57 year old American(exact location unknown) wanting to try this as a hobby,with only water and vinegar of course ;)... I have no experience, I repeat absolutely zero experience. I have been reading here for a few months, and have learned much, but the more I read, the more that I realize I need to read even more! I truly appreciate all those who contribute their knowledge to help others. :thumbup: This site is the best for home distillers! I am not capable of building my own still. I have been looking at, and leaning toward, the Brewhaus stills. Since they have a 10% off sale this month on their stills, I have decided to pull the trigger and purchase one. I am not worried about being marked by the Feds, I live off the beaten path, if you know what I mean. I am wondering if the basic pot still with a 2" column would be a good beginner still, or will I have regrets and wish I would have bought the high capacity 3" model that offers both pot and reflux distilling options? I know the increased diameter from 2" to 3" would allow for a greater volume of vapor and shorter distilling times, which is something I believe I would like.... I would like to distill both for flavor spirits and for neutrals. I am going to try the All Bran recipe first to learn. I am excited to get started, but I also realize that patience is a virtue for distillers. But I am ready to do something!

I continue to read...and learn.

I enjoy drinking mixes like apple pie, strawberry, blackberry, etc.

Jack Daniel's, Jim Beam, not so much.... But I do like Jameson's Irish whiskey.