Hello from Belgium

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

Taxy
Novice

Hello from Belgium

Post by Taxy »

A newbie here in the distiller's trade.

I have been reading this forum for the last two weeks and I already learned a ton about this new and exciting hobby.

I started my first brews about ten days ago (three 25l birdwatcher's sugerwashes) and they are almost done. As I am a whisky lover, I will probably take the all grain path at some point but I preferred to start with something with less variables.

I did a vinegar run on a T500 this afternoon. Already got a bit wiser: acetic acid apparently has a higher boiling point than water so I was essentially distilling water and leaving a vinegar concentrate behind. It sure cleaned out old scale stains in a toilet bowl very well.

I am really looking forward to my very first run in the coming week. Should I do a sacrificial run or do the vinegar run and the subsequent cleaning suffice?

Challenges with the hobby identified so far: (i) patience 'when will the brew get dry?', (ii) time 'when do I get to spend a couple of hours distilling?', (iii) keeping the misses happy 'with all that mess'.
nuntius01
Rumrunner

Re: Hello from Belgium

Post by nuntius01 »

welcome
I'm just the bank and the mule

post your still pics here
http://homedistiller.org/forum/viewtopi ... 16&t=66917
Dantuss
Swill Maker

Post by Dantuss »

Welcome to the forums!
My Build 2" CCVM
http://homedistiller.org/forum/viewtopi ... 17&t=68341" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow
My still up and running 1st and 2nd runs Yahoo!
https://youtu.be/KYZUiHw79vY" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow
Still Life
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Still Life »

Hello, Taxy.