Greetings from the UK

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

thomasario
Novice

Greetings from the UK

Post by thomasario »

Hello all.

Thought I’d introduce myself. I’m Tom from the UK and I’ve suddenly discovered the amazing world of distilling.

I’m a complete novice. I have never brewed or distilled in my life.

But, over the space of the last few weeks I have become borderline obsessive on the idea of a micro-distillery project. (In my defence I have run a relatively successful business for a few years – nothing in any way connected to brewing – but I do at least have a good grounding in the realities of business – so I’m trying to temper my naïve enthusiasm with at least a hint of realism.)

Gin is the preferred option. (And yes I know before I could even start thinking seriously about this in the UK, or even re-distilling a drop for that matter I’d need a rectifier license, but this is the early, early planning stage.)

This being the case I fear I am going to be bombarding you folks with stupid questions – so apologies in advance. I will of course check previous posts before wasting your time though!

I’m particularly interested in the vacuum distillation process so that will doubtless be my first topic of questions.

I’m looking forward to getting involved with the forum – and thanks in advance for any help. I'm pretty encouraged that plenty of past searches have already brought me this way a few times over the past few weeks so I’m hopeful of some great wisdom. Even if it is simply “don’t waste your time”

Cheers, Tom :)
You may need to tell me twice. My concentration levels are . . . oh look, a squirrel.
nuntius01
Rumrunner

Re: Greetings from the UK

Post by nuntius01 »

welcome
I'm just the bank and the mule

post your still pics here