Hello from Melbourne, Australia

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

lionfish
Novice

Hello from Melbourne, Australia

Post by lionfish »

Long time lurker, first time poster.

Thank you to everyone who contributes to this forum. I have learnt so much and have already made lots of mistakes. I have spent four months reading and learning before venturing into my own attempt at home.

I was very nervous on the first run. But it turned out really well - except perhaps turning on the garden hose too high and flooding the back deck...

My background is many years of brewing ginger beer, so fermenting and creating a very drinkable product has probably helped me with a good run into this hobby - well, the first part at least.

I'm using a converted 10 litre boiler to distill. Small, but works okay for today. Father in law helped with the welding and pimping.

I started with a TPW wash with a wine yeast. I did four runs through that which turned out well. Collected to around 50% on the pot still.

I've now done four ferments - now using bakers yeast - and around 16 runs.

Ever more confident I've now done an Odin Cornflake whisky which is now sitting on oak chips aging nicely. What a lovely drink only 10 days in.

I've also made two batches of Odin's gin. I can't believe how good this gin is. I've already embellished it with a few extra flavouring to suit my taste - namely cardomon and liquorise root.

Then, brimming with more confidence, I've make a mulberry pantry dropper - using fruit off the tree outside my kitchen.

None if this would have been possible without the knowledge and giving of the locals on this forum.

A big thank you - the new hobby has been more fulfilling and exciting than I ever imagined.