Distilling in the Chinese Himalayas

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

MountainBandit
Novice

Distilling in the Chinese Himalayas

Post by MountainBandit »

Hi, I'm an American distiller in the Chinese Himalayas (Dali, Yunnan), originally from Louisiana. I've been distilling for about five years, after about a decade and a half of brewing on two continents. I've played with some grain-based spirits, but mostly I work with sugar cane, for rum and as cane neutral spirits for gin, absinthe, and a host of liqueurs, because we're in cane country (we're at high altitude but further south in latitude than my home in Louisiana, which is also cane country). I'm looking to start a small craft distillery in the near future, but for the moment my distilling all takes places in my home, so I think I still belong in this forum :D

I'm happy to be part of the community, and immensely grateful to the host and the people who respond!
Yummyrum
Global moderator

Re: Distilling in the Chinese Himalayas

Post by Yummyrum »

Welcome to HD MountainBandit .

Whoow , surprised you are able to grow sugar cane up in them mountains . Sounds like amazing place of the world .
dukethebeagle120
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by dukethebeagle120 »

I googled dali.
That is a beautiful place
May i ask what took you so far from louisiana.
Great to have you here
its better to think like a fool but keep your mouth shut,then to open ur mouth and have it confirmed
MountainBandit
Novice

Post by MountainBandit »