Wanna try something new please help lol

Production methods from starch to sugars.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Fish_06
Novice

Wanna try something new please help lol

Post by Fish_06 »

Hello I'm pretty new to the hobby and I'm loving every second of it but want to try something new. I have done 3 5 gallon corn meal mashes which turned out pretty good but I hear corn meal makes a crappy finished product. I've done 1 brown sugar rum that was pretty damn good I must say. But the other day I picked up 10 pounds of flaked corn and 5 pounds flaked rye and 5 pounds of 6 row? Barley. Anyone out here have any ideas I should try with this? I'm thicked skinned so let it all come out so I can learn this please. Lol!! Oh by the way I'm running a 10 gallon alembic so would rather do 5 or 10 gallons. Thanks in advance.

Kyle
Swedish Pride
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Wanna try something new please help lol

Post by Swedish Pride »

mash all them grains you got together, bet it will make a nice bourbon, should give you enough beerfor two strips and a extra bit to add to the spirit run
Don't be a dick
Still Life
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Still Life »

Ditto what Swedish Pride said.
And don't be so quick to diss corn meal. I grind cracked corn to a fine meal to make bourbon. Takes less ferment space and converts well.
frunobulax
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by frunobulax »

I use corn meal all of the time too. Where did you hear it makes a crappy product?
The flaked corn and rye you have will work fine at normal mashing temperatures, but it's going to get real gooey,
I wouldn't count on sparging it.
ShineonCrazyDiamond
Global moderator

Post by ShineonCrazyDiamond »

frunobulax wrote:I use corn meal all of the time too. Where did you hear it makes a crappy product?
I only know of one place to buy flaked corn. My guess is whoever had something to gain from selling expensive flaked corn is who bashed all other corn.