Racking Advice

Production methods from starch to sugars.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Opdog
Site Donor
Site Donor

Racking Advice

Post by Opdog »

I am suddenly finding myself in need of a couple of new racking containers on very short order. I have 2 six gallon carboys and 3-5 gallon carboys that I use as racking containers. They are currently full of HBB that I had planned to run tomorrow, but now I have to travel for work. The one of my clients was arrested for embezzling a LOT of money yesterday and I will now be flying out tomorrow night to see what I can salvage. I'll be out of town until the middle of next week. So the problem is that I have a gumballhead in my big fermenter that is halfway done and an all oats run in my small fermenter that is done and ready for racking. I had planned to run the HBB and use the carboys as racking vessels, but now I'm stuck for a week until I get back from dealing with this work mess.

I need some suggestions for racking vessels that are both cheap and easy to obtain quickly. Normally I use my small fermenter when I'm in a bind, but it is full right now with the mash that needs to be racked. I was thinking of running to Home Depot and picking up a few 5 gallon buckets with lids, but I get a little jumpy not being able to see through the container. My small fermenter is a 20 gallon white Brute that I can see through with a strong light and even that makes me question. How it's going. Any ideas are welcome. At this point I don't care how wacky as long as I can find it locally and it won't leach nasties.
I've stopped fighting my inner demons. We are on the same side now.
NZChris
Master of Distillation

Re: Racking Advice

Post by NZChris »

Cover them well and they should look after themselves until you are ready. I never rack mine anyway. That's a winemakers trick.
Opdog
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Opdog »

I suppose I can try that.

I run 6,600 watts on 2 internal elements, so I am paranoid about floaters.
MontanaMule