My new alembic

Many like to post about a first successful ferment (or first all grain mash), or first still built/bought or first good run of the still. Tell us about all of these great times here.
Pics are VERY welcome, we drool over pretty copper 8)

Moderator: Site Moderator

japsinok
Bootlegger

My new alembic

Post by japsinok »

Ran cleaning (vinegar) and sacrificial (random feints and failures in jars) runs on my new 10 gal alembic. I've been using a 5 gal alembic for 3 years and decided to go a little larger. I really like the drops these stills make and I'm not a big fan of neutrals, so I am satisfied with an alembic pot still. And of course there are the aesthetics. These things are functional works of art!!! Bought it directly from Portugal, but it does not seem to be of the same quality as my smaller 5 gal alembic (thinner gauge and undersized condenser coil). But it's still a fine bit of copper craftsmanship. Had to run a bit more cooling water than I would prefer, and added 42" of coil to the end (passive air cool) and that really knocked down all the vapors at near full power. It's gonna be nice being able to run 8 gals at once rather than 4 gals twice!! And I can still use the 5 gal for smaller spirit runs.

japs
Attachments
10 gal Alembic.jpg
Just another pot stiller
NZChris
Master of Distillation

Re: My new alembic

Post by NZChris »

You're going to love using that. :ebiggrin:
res
Novice

Post by res »

I started out with a tiny 5 litre alembic, probably from the same people in Portugal, was and is a great still :thumbup:
I really should find something small to run for old times sake.
You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.
Winston Churchill
Still Life
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Still Life »

that's a beautiful work of copper.
japsinok
Bootlegger

Post by japsinok »

Thanks ya'll.