first corn meal sugar wash

Many like to post about a first successful ferment (or first all grain mash), or first still built/bought or first good run of the still. Tell us about all of these great times here.
Pics are VERY welcome, we drool over pretty copper 8)

Moderator: Site Moderator

twisted_times
Novice

first corn meal sugar wash

Post by twisted_times »

Made a sugar and corn meal mash. Very unsientific and no measuring. Was broke and had stuff laying around. Fermented for two weeks. Ran about 5 gallons of mash through copper pot still. I am very new to this so making cuts did not work to well on the heads and hearts I got about 2 qrts heads@ 69%. 1 qrt heart at 55-65% and a quart and half of tails shutting down at 30%, the tails seemed very easy to spot and pull the hearts jars out, all feints will be ran through again, not sure if this is around average or if I ran heads longer than needed. No real questions just throwing out my experience. And big note: turbo yeast makes it taste like a**. Listen to the guys saying to use the right yeast. Will be my last time with any turbo
* HEY YOU GUYYYYYYYYSSSSS*.
der wo
Master of Distillation

Re: first corn meal sugar wash

Post by der wo »

Does it feel good to have something to blame for?
And what's if the next one with bakers yeast has the same taste? And if not, will you have only changed the yeast or other mistakes you perhaps made too?

Anyway, your numbers sound like high abv wash and single run with a potstill. At least this is no method for a clean taste. Maximum it is a method for a strong taste with a little hope, that aging will cure the downsides of this method.

With no measurings too many things are imaginable what could have went wrong.
In this way, imperialism brings catastrophe as a mode of existence back from the periphery of capitalist development to its point of departure. - Rosa Luxemburg
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation
Location: where the buffalo roam, and the deer & antelope play