First Batch

Many like to post about a first successful ferment (or first all grain mash), or first still built/bought or first good run of the still. Tell us about all of these great times here.
Pics are VERY welcome, we drool over pretty copper 8)

Moderator: Site Moderator

picpete
Novice

First Batch

Post by picpete »

Hi,
This is my first time distilling.
I have been reading this forum and others before doing my first run the other night.
Did a 20 L beer wash fermented for 14 days.
Still used is a 30 L SOLDERED MOONSHINE STILL STARTER KIT.

The Mash was 2 x Beer Kits from Super Store plus two Campaign Yeast Lalvin EC 1118 and 5 kg of sugar. Tastes Carmel and Marshmallow quite pleasant. It isn't smooth but doesn't rip the guts out of you.
Why this recipe not really sure seemed easy. This is my first run ever. I got a bit concerned that nothing was happening and increased the heat which I think I ran the Foreshots into the Heads.

What do I do with this?
1- I opened the lids and aired for 24 hrs and it does smell cleaner a bit still pretty raw when I drink. Does it need to be cured with wood chip and or in Kegs to give more taste and mellow out.
2- Do I just mix the 5 middle jars mix together and water down to 40% and drink.
3- Do a 2nd run - if I do this do I add 20 litres of water and redistill.
I sound uncertain and I am.
Cheers, Peter.
Attachments
First Run .jpg
pounsfos
Distiller

Re: First Batch

Post by pounsfos »

everyone makes mistakes, in this forum, you can read so much before you have nothing left but to do.

This is your first run, don't sweat it to much eh

Take a small bottle 8-18ishounces (200-500ml) and put some in there and tuck it away. (in 1 year take it tout and appreciate how far you have come)

as for the rest either re-run it, Macerate something in it (i Highly recommend the strawberry panty dropper or just a couple of vanilla beans)
or save it for later and re run it with some other stuff you have