My first all grain run (Jimbo's with photos)

Many like to post about a first successful ferment (or first all grain mash), or first still built/bought or first good run of the still. Tell us about all of these great times here.
Pics are VERY welcome, we drool over pretty copper 8)

Moderator: Site Moderator

jon1163
Site Donor
Site Donor

My first all grain run (Jimbo's with photos)

Post by jon1163 »

I've been distilling for a couple of years but have only run sugar heads, sugar washes, and fruit mashes so far. I just got through with two birdwatcher runs and they were my first without using Turbo yeast. I learned that I will never again use that garbage.

I decided to write a short blog on my first all grain experience which would never have been successful without all those who contribute to this forum. I would like to especially thank Jimbo, stillstirrin, HDNB, Bayoushine, and Truckinbutch. I'm leaving some out I am sure so thank you to those as well.

I run a dual-purpose, 8 gallon, stainless steel rig from Mile-High Distilling. Currently I use a 110 volt heating element connected to an electric controller. I run my still as a pot still and don't mess with the reflux much. It seems to require too much energy for my heating element and I don't like to buy propane on a regular basis. I use no packing in the column on my stripping runs and several rolls of copper on the spirit runs. I use a parrot on stripping runs and collect heads, hearts, and tails in a carboy. For spirit runs I discard the parrot and collect in small jars.

I began with Jimbo's Easy Half/barrel wheated bourbon and Gumballhead. Now that's a mouthful so I'll just refer to it as Jimbo's easy bourbon-no offense Jimbo... I scaled the recipe to two six-gallon batches. I didn't bother using cracked corn. I'm lazy and have a great hookup for flaked maize.

My first batch was as follows:
6 gallons water
7.5 ml lactic acid
2 tsp gypsum
10 lbs flaked maize
2.5 lbs wheat malt
1.5 lbs 6-row