Glass Carboy or glass wine jug as pot still?

This hobby is fun & enjoyable, but it is not tiddlywinks. Be safe!

Moderator: Site Moderator

lifeodaparty
Novice

Glass Carboy or glass wine jug as pot still?

Post by lifeodaparty »

Hey guys. I am new to this obviously. I was wondering if something like this might work. Put a standard rubber cork in a glass carboy or wine jug, put copper tubing in that, run it through a condenser and put the glass directly on a stovetop heating very slowly as to not break the glass and baddabing baddaboom, drip drip drip, cut, drip drip drip collect FTW. The fitting is tight, but not gonna withstand too much pressure. Is there something that is totally off with this? I was gonna do it with a thermometer in a second smaller hole in the cork but the temp seems like a very imprecise way of making cuts so im just gonna go volume/taste and alcohol percent. I tried it with a jug of wine for testing and worked pretty well. Dont know if the carbine (5gallons) will be able to heat up properly on the stove/without breaking but it would be nice to be able to do 5 gallon runs. Could get a propane burner if my stove won't heat the 5 gallon carboy enough. If this doesn't work I will consider a keg distiller vs home made copper and in the mean time i guess I will just refine my mashing/sparging and make some beer.

Also I dont have an alcometer yet. Where can I get one? I want one that needs very little alcohol to measure, so not a floating type. Do those exist?
Last edited by lifeodaparty on Sat Jan 30, 2010 7:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dnderhead
Angel's Share
Angel's Share

Re: Glass Carbine or glass wine jug as pot still?

Post by Dnderhead »

no way no how should glass be used.just wont withstand the heat.and even if it did one bump and hot ethanol all over stove.
blind drunk
retired

Post by blind drunk »

Just as easy (and safer) to buy a stainless pot and make a simple pot still. Why bother with scary glass. bd.
I do all my own stunts