Propane, and a question about cinder blocks.

This hobby is fun & enjoyable, but it is not tiddlywinks. Be safe!

Moderator: Site Moderator

mmmmmm
Novice

Propane, and a question about cinder blocks.

Post by mmmmmm »

Hello all. Not new to our hobby, but new to propane. I'm looking to leave my kitchen (and my 4 gallon pot) and start doing things on a slightly bigger scale, probably in my garage.

I have almost everything I need, and I was admiring some metal stands I'd seen people had built, but I don't know that that's an option for me right now because of cost. My first thought was to just set my pot up on four cinder blocks and put my burner underneath it.

Do you think I'd have an issue with the cinder blocks getting hot and cracking or breaking? I've seen conflicting information on the internet and I'd hate to turn my back on this option if I'm worrying about something that isn't going to be an issue.

Have any of you done this with cinder blocks?

Also. I'm completely new to propane, but I was reading that you're not supposed to store the tank inside or in a garage even. But I hate to just leave it out in the elements which is my only other option. Do you guys leave propane tanks out where they get rained on and stuff? Seems like a bad idea to me. Although the place I'm getting it from does leave them outside in a mesh cage. I dunno.
T-Pee
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Propane, and a question about cinder blocks.

Post by T-Pee »

I use the basic turkey burner that's already mounted in a stand. Keeping it simple, ya know?
I store propane in the garage. As long as you turn it off when not in use, what's the problem?

tp
Yummyrum
Global moderator

Post by Yummyrum »

Not sure what cinder blocks are but I have some bricks under my keg.

I've had my propane bottles out in the weather for 17 years no worries .

If you are going to use propane burner in the shed make sure the doors windows are open so CO2 doesnt build up and put you to sleep
Appalachia-Shiner