60% wheat 20% corn 20%barley

All about grains. Malting, smoking, grinding and other preparations.
Which grains are hot, which are not.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Mgnt
Novice

60% wheat 20% corn 20%barley

Post by Mgnt »

So I would like to try an all grain mash bill using the grains above 60% red winter wheat 20% corn 20% barley not sure what kind 2 row or 6... now I'm new to all of this but have a few questions.... first do all the grains have to be Malted or just barley.... the is there a benefit to malting everything (more available starch/sugar or more emzimes).... I kinda wanted to do thing natural no enzymies but in researching looks like I might be better off getting some....

so my next question is do I need both alpha and beats if I'm using malted barley.... in addition to everything else being malted... I've been reading that corn should be taken to higher temp like 180 f but wheat and barley to about 140 150.... now the mash is mostly wheat could I put all the grain in a pot and bring it to about 145f for and hour...

Now I planned on five gallon batches with 12.5 lbs of the grains... starting of should I use less like a pound a gallon just to get the feeling.. AG are a lot of work and wouldn't want to mess everything up first time

Thanks in advance
der wo
Master of Distillation

Re: 60% wheat 20% corn 20%barley

Post by der wo »

This is a good recipe to start without using liquid enzymes:
http://homedistiller.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=17750
Of course you can replace some of the corn with wheat if you want.

Yes. All grain is complicated. You will find your answers by reading AG threads. It's a long journey. A good recipe like NCHooch'S to start speeds up.
In this way, imperialism brings catastrophe as a mode of existence back from the periphery of capitalist development to its point of departure. - Rosa Luxemburg
MichiganCornhusker
retired

Post by MichiganCornhusker »

I commend you for your enthusiasm!