Dunder Pit - In Honor of ShineOn

These little beasts do all the hard work. Share how to keep 'em happy and working hard.

Moderator: Site Moderator

TDick
Distiller

Dunder Pit - In Honor of ShineOn

Post by TDick »

Okay, first things first.
I AM STILL A NEWBIE

I was reading page TWO of ShineOn's topic "Feed grade molly and brown sugar wash"
http://homedistiller.org/forum/viewtopi ... 40&t=64374" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow

I asked not a stupid question, but one that indicated I had not read from the beginning.
ShineOn patiently replied and sent me back to school, and I am SO glad he did.

Reading through from the beginning was a great educational process that I invite every newb to do.
It's ABC's on thinking through a process to make the product you want. Thanks again ShineOn! :D

BUT - part of the discussion - about Dunder - confused me. At one point Shine was concentrating on his Dunder.
Then, the statement that the Dunder makes no difference and is a waste of time.
Lately back to square one and his working on a Dunder Pit.
I wanted to find out more about this but didn't want to muddy the wash on the original thread.
I Googled Dunder Pit and found this article - very interesting, at least to me.
http://www.thedailybeast.com/great-rum- ... goat-heads" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow

There has been a lot of conversation about "quality" rums, and I'd like to get more input from the Pro's about this.
Thanks again ShineOn!
:mrgreen:
Shine0n
Distiller

Re: Dunder Pit - In Honor of ShineOn

Post by Shine0n »

I'm glad you mentioned my saying dunder was useless part, I'll try and clarify some.
When at the time I said that, it was ment for adding fresh dunder to the wash, not low wines. I'm sorry I wasn't more clear on that particular part of the thread. At the time I wasn't in to stripping runs because my original rum recipe is what I normally make to consume.