Learning to Toast

Treatment and handling of your distillate.

Moderator: Site Moderator

OtisT
Master of Distillation

Learning to Toast

Post by OtisT »

I've had trouble getting consistent results from toasting. I decided to spend some time this weekend doing experiments to help me learn more and get to know how my equipment operates so that I can make what I want, when I want it, without wasting so damn much wood.

I'm no expert. I humbly submit my knowledge to the universe. Here is a summary of what I learned this weekend.

#1 - Record Your Process
To repeat a process for consistent results, you need to log details of what you do and the results. Basics for this we're temp, time, wood dimension, wood grade, plus other observation and the results.

#2 - Use a Convection Oven
A convection oven is less work and provides more consistent results. I started using both my conventional home oven and a toaster/Convection oven. A convection oven has an air circulating fan in it. With convection I had to move my wood much less, and the heat was much more consistent (less hot spots.) I have less capacity with this oven but with the improved yield, it is plenty big enough for my needs.

I kept 1/4" of air space between each stick and cross stacked them two rows high.

Each oven is different. It's easier to get consistent results by working with the same oven each time. Here is my little fella.
My little Convection Oven
My little Convection Oven
#3 - Use the same size sticks
To get consistent results you should use the same sized pieces. I am going with 3/4" x 3/4" x 6". For my tests I used the box on the left which was half American White Oak and half Cherry.
Box-o-sticks
Box-o-sticks
#4 - Grade Your Wood