Density and Temp do not match %ABV

Sugar, and all about sugar washes. Where the primary ingredient is sugar, and other things are just used as nutrients.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Alchemist
Bootlegger

Density and Temp do not match %ABV

Post by Alchemist »

To say the least I'm a bit confused.

I just finished a stripping run of 20 L of Buccaneer Bob's rum. Life made me deviate somewhat on the fermenting vs distilling schedule. Meaning it has sat a couple months fermented out on the yeast. First impression of the fermented wash was quite sharp. Quickly moving on I stripped it out yesterday....and the numbers (and flavor) made no sense.

Disclaimer. I'm a retired chemist. I get distilling. I also have 12-18 distillations under my belt (mostly gin and scotch style whisky) and I've vetted my system and process. It all works text book.

That said, the product was very....vinegar like. Not quite, but close. And using the search feature I see that isn't terribly uncommon. But.

My product started coming off fine at about 80 C, I pulled my foreshots, and continued on. The first oddity is that the % coming off per my Tralle Hydrometer said 25% and proceeded to go down from there. By the time I had collected about 6 L of product the hydrometer said 5% but my still thermometer never went above 90C.

I verified both thermometer calibration with boiling water and a 2nd thermometer and the hydrometer with some previous 45% ABV I have age. They all checked out (clearly or I would not be writing).

Any thoughts anyone? I'm left with WTF!
The whiskey makes it all so clear...
cuginosgrizzo
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Density and Temp do not match %ABV

Post by cuginosgrizzo »

I fear your ferment was infected with vinegar. That consumed the alcohol in the two months your was sat there, and so you had a very low alcohol content when you started distilling.
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation
Location: where the buffalo roam, and the deer & antelope play

Post by still_stirrin »