UK distilling IS legal!!

Discussion and plans for legalizing our hobby.

Moderator: Site Moderator

st_brewer
Novice

UK distilling IS legal!!

Post by st_brewer »

Hey Guys

I'm new to this thing, and I'm from good ol' blighty, lots of people are confused about this topic so I decided to descend from the northern wilderness of Newcastle to educate any other UK inhabitants of this proud forum.

Distilling alcohol for consumption or fuel NOT for retail is perfectly legal so long as you own a Rectifiers license. These are free to apply for and you MUST have one if you own a still or plan to have one.

Basically apply with drawings of your still, where you use it and what you want to produce. Then just keep a record of how much you produce and from what.

Here be the link to our great friends at the HMRC.

http://customs.hmrc.gov.uk/channelsPort ... e=document" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow

You have been educated by.

The saint 8)
Samohon
retired

Re: UK distilling IS legal!!

Post by Samohon »

Welcome to HD st_brewer...

At the time of this post, distillation of spirit inside the territory of the United Kingdom is Illegal without a licence.
Yes you can apply for one, but that only alerts HMRC that you either have, plan, or want to distill.
I fly below the radar, really low... Further, its not uncommon to hear of certain individuals here making, and selling their shine.
Not so long ago there were a few polish guy's in England blew themselves up making illegal booze.

Certain quantities of wash must be produced each week, thousands of litres.
A separate still house and secure warehouse is also needed for the license to be granted.
Not to mention the health and safety aspect and the £££'s associated with it...

These 3 items alone, make the, 'going legal', attribute impossible for small scale hobbyist's such as us.
I calculated some time back to get up and running legally would cost me around £45,000.