Getting Legal

Discussion and plans for legalizing our hobby.

Moderator: Site Moderator

zacwest52285
Swill Maker

Getting Legal

Post by zacwest52285 »

I have decided to attempt to obtain my "micro distillers license" here in KS. I have no intention of becoming a micro distillery, but considering both my and my wife's professions, being in trouble for the hobby that I enjoy so much could be life altering.

I am just beginning the process, tracking down all the federal and state required paperwork. In my state I will not be required to produce a minimum amount of taxable spirits yearly. I will be able to label all my spirits as "for research and development only".

Legally I will be allowed to produce 50,000 gallons annually, but I cannot drink that much so I will never reach that. It seems like a ton of work to go through for a hobby. I think that going this route will allow me to sell if ever I decide to.

I would love to hear any and all suggestions.

I will update this as I make my way through this process.
Enter witty quote that changes people's lives here.
Fellow newbies, this is a good read http://homedistiller.org/forum/viewtopi ... 32&t=37471
pfshine
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Getting Legal

Post by pfshine »

Cool. Anybody estimates of initial cost.
Life is a journey you take alone. Make sure you do what you what makes you happy
WhiteDevil504
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by WhiteDevil504 »