Concentric Pot Still/LM Hybrid

Post your builds here.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Pyewacket
Swill Maker

Concentric Pot Still/LM Hybrid

Post by Pyewacket »

I would like to start out by saying that I am a novice. I have been running a very basic pot still and was in desperate need of an upgrade. I found Johnh89's post (http://homedistiller.org/forum/viewtopi ... =16&t=8046) where he details a concentric designed pot still that he had been running for years. There were some questions about the safety of the still due to the possibilities of pressure build up; running mash with solids would cause a puking leading to a blockage--because of the narrow spaces. Johnh89 and Master-Peter worked on the plan, and the later incantation of the still was safe--including the still is now in two parts making it easy to clean.

The other safety concern is that the take-off is above the heat source creating a possible fire hazard. I am aware, and I plan to place the parrot and collection below and far away from the stove.

As you will see, the top of the still is left open making the still safe. I made some modifications that include the addition of a cold finger (that is removable). The cold finger adds to the concentric nature of the still and may significantly increase the vapor cooling potential of the still. It may also have been a complete waste of time -- it is removable. To accommodate the cold finger I made a loose fitting couple that the cold finger could be settled into -- keeping it in a central position. At the top of the still, I dog eared the tube...again keeping the cold finger in a central position. To accommodate the cold finger I had to drill some venting ports into the steam riser. These ports will also provide the refluxing back down the column while operating in reflux mode.

A needle valve was added so the still could run in LM...