Using GLASS cooktop, along with internal element

If it plugs in post it here

Moderator: Site Moderator

Using GLASS cooktop, along with internal element

Postby riff42 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:12 am

Trying to use the search on here, it for some reason says "Ignoring "glass""

Gezz, thanks.

Anyway, new house, it has a glass cooktop. I've used the normal resistive element cooktops in the past, with a controlled internal for fine tuning my pot still output. But before I get into the trouble of dremeling out a new hole for a new element, so i can run the still anywhere in the house (barring the fact not many rooms have more than one 15-20A circuit in them)..........I rather just throw my still up in the kitchen, and run it like I always have....but is a glass cooktop safe for a 5 gallon wash, and simple pot still?
---
I want my last words to be:
"Hey, this is kind of fun!!"
User avatar
riff42
Swill Maker
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 5:08 pm
Location: My desk, somewhere in the east of somewhere....

Re: Using GLASS cooktop, along with internal element

Postby zapata » Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:26 am

It is far from ideal, since it will cycle on and off as opposed the steady power changes an element power controller uses. And look on brewing sites to see the ocasional cracked glass top from too much weight and too much reflected heat for too long. I would thinkbthis even more likely if adding internal element heat too.
Many guys end up claiming ignorance to SWMBO and use the opportunity to install a gas range as part of the home repair budget instead of the brewing budget.

And dremels seem to not be best tool for element installation, unless you have dremel skills and tools I've never seen. Hole saws, carbide hole saws, and my favorite knockout punches or even dimpling tools do a far cleaner job. Have you managed a clean big hole with a dremel before? SS or Cu?
zapata
Swill Maker
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 1:06 pm

Re: Using GLASS cooktop, along with internal element

Postby riff42 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:53 am

Hahaha, and I DO want to install a gas top ;) Buuuuut I rather not break it making spirits, I'd get in WAY too much trouble.

I only pot, so I have been using a normal stove top with an internal element for awhile, with no issues. I'm moving to a SSR system soon. However, the main problem lies within cutting a whole in my SS boiler with minimal tools I have, AND finding a place with another 15A breaker to run the second element. That is ideal, but not realistic for me, at this point in time. Unless I can run a REALLY long cord across the house for another breaker circuit, and not loose a ton of power.

But yeah, I never thought about over-cooking the stovetop...it DOES have, what seems like a thermocouple, sticking in the middle of the elements. Maybe there is an overtemp system? Hmm.

And yes, I did cut one hole in it with a dremel, and it SUCKED. I used many cut off wheels, and a year just to smooth the "hole" back to a round shape. Maybe I'll try a drill it, and use a hole saw? Do I need a special one for SS??
---
I want my last words to be:
"Hey, this is kind of fun!!"
User avatar
riff42
Swill Maker
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 5:08 pm
Location: My desk, somewhere in the east of somewhere....

Re: Using GLASS cooktop, along with internal element

Postby still_stirrin » Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:37 pm

riff42 wrote:...use a hole saw? Do I need a special one for SS??

The big box stores have carbide tipped hole saws...I got one for $27 USD (1" ID hole). It works good for poking holes in a keg. For a stainless steel stock pot, you can probably use a stepped bit ($15-$20 USD).

I sure wouldn't want to use a Dremel to cut a hole...PITA.
ss
Attention new distillers: Cranky's spoon feed info
What is a Proof & Traille hydrometer: Alcohol-meter
Enzyme info: SebStar
HD Google search info: HD Google-how to
All about mashing grains: Braukaiser
User avatar
still_stirrin
Master Distiller
 
Posts: 5064
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 7:01 am

Re: Using GLASS cooktop, along with internal element

Postby cob » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:09 pm

a carbide burr in that dremel would be much less of a pain in the ass than cutoff wheels.
be water my friend
cob
Master Distiller
 
Posts: 1551
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 4:38 pm
Location: little puffs of dust where my feet used to be

Re: Using GLASS cooktop, along with internal element

Postby zapata » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:10 pm

Rig it so the wife busts it, then save the day by having the gas replacement picked out and installed!

I will point out that your stove is plugged into a 40-50 Amp outlet, more power than you'll ever need to run in a kitchen. It'd be easy enough to tap into it, either by pulling the stove back enough to access the plug, or by wiring in a separate outlet for easier access. Get or build a controller and you're in business. Any money spent there would also carry over to future upgrades as well.
zapata
Swill Maker
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 1:06 pm

Re: Using GLASS cooktop, along with internal element

Postby riff42 » Thu Sep 14, 2017 5:00 am

zapata wrote:Rig it so the wife busts it, then save the day by having the gas replacement picked out and installed!

I will point out that your stove is plugged into a 40-50 Amp outlet, more power than you'll ever need to run in a kitchen. It'd be easy enough to tap into it, either by pulling the stove back enough to access the plug, or by wiring in a separate outlet for easier access. Get or build a controller and you're in business. Any money spent there would also carry over to future upgrades as well.


Well, my idea is to NOT do it in the kitchen in the first place. Else yeah, I'd add a tap into the 240, and be happy with two elements and controllers! Maybe I'll just get someone to add in a 240 breaker and wall plug in the basement. Easy! Right? haha.
---
I want my last words to be:
"Hey, this is kind of fun!!"
User avatar
riff42
Swill Maker
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 5:08 pm
Location: My desk, somewhere in the east of somewhere....

Re: Using GLASS cooktop, along with internal element

Postby Antler24 » Thu Sep 14, 2017 6:36 pm

riff42 wrote:
zapata wrote:Rig it so the wife busts it, then save the day by having the gas replacement picked out and installed!

I will point out that your stove is plugged into a 40-50 Amp outlet, more power than you'll ever need to run in a kitchen. It'd be easy enough to tap into it, either by pulling the stove back enough to access the plug, or by wiring in a separate outlet for easier access. Get or build a controller and you're in business. Any money spent there would also carry over to future upgrades as well.


Well, my idea is to NOT do it in the kitchen in the first place. Else yeah, I'd add a tap into the 240, and be happy with two elements and controllers! Maybe I'll just get someone to add in a 240 breaker and wall plug in the basement. Easy! Right? haha.


That's what I did. Bought a gfci breaker, scrounged a dryer receptacle and some 10/3 at the dump and had a electrician friend tie it into the panel. Had some pex and stuff lying around, ran a water and drain line for condenser and done. Took me a day and only cost was the breaker and a 12 pack of Budweiser for my electrician friend.
Antler24
Rumrunner
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:00 pm

Re: Using GLASS cooktop, along with internal element

Postby zapata » Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:23 pm

Also, you said new house, as in just built or as in new to you? When I moved last, I eventually realized there are 2 unused 240v breakers, wiring already in place just not attached to anything. Basically let me scrounge from myself! Check your panel.
zapata
Swill Maker
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 1:06 pm


Return to Related Electric Accessories



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dieselduo and 1 guest