220v dryer outlet for running the element.

If it plugs in, post it here.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Cashjon
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Cashjon »

Would a dryer outlet that is run a 240v 45-5500w element? Was thinking on just using dryer plugs on the controller box instead of installing another breaker and wire-plug etc. I was confused about the 110v vs 120v and the 220v vs 240v but online articles I read say they are the same. Thanks in advance
UnSub
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by UnSub »

That depends on how your controller is wired. I use a 4 wire 220 system for my controller and my dryer is a 3 wire 220 line. I'm sure someone will correct me (because I'm NOT an electrician) but I believe you also need to have a breaker that is rated for the appropriate load and not extraordinary over rated. A 5500w element draws (I believe) about 23 amps depending on the length (and gauge) of wire. Mine is on a double 20amp and have not had any issue but have yet to run it for an extended period (over an hour).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pfshine
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: 220v dryer outlet for running the element.

Post by pfshine »

Yes they are perfect for this.
Life is a journey you take alone. Make sure you do what you what makes you happy
Cashjon
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Cashjon »

UnSub wrote:That depends on how your controller is wired. I use a 4 wire 220 system for my controller and my dryer is a 3 wire 220 line. I'm sure someone will correct me (because I'm NOT an electrician) but I believe you also need to have a breaker that is rated for the appropriate load and not extraordinary over rated. A 5500w element draws (I believe) about 23 amps depending on the length (and gauge) of wire. Mine is on a double 20amp and have not had any issue but have yet to run it for an extended period (over an hour).
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk