My shotgun condenser

Anything cooling/condenser related.

Moderator: Site Moderator

solartje
Novice

My shotgun condenser

Post by solartje »

I'm new here, and i have no experience in distilling, Metalworking or anything related to this new hobby, and i'm short of fancy machienery, but what i lack there i make up with a healthy appetide, a big wish to learn and two good pair of hands. Being a civil engineer helps. I already have made plans for a special condenser i haven't seen but thats for later.

So, as the cooler is the piece every still needs, i decided to start with that part and make it interchangable so i could use it for a pot still stripping at full power as for a vm , flute, etc. And go from there. First will be the pot still for heavy rums to learn the art

I have a 15g keg and as i have a 20amp max fuse i'll go for a single 4500w wave form heater on a controller.

Ok that's the background. After reading about 10 pages, searching for scrap i'll be making a 2" shell condenser with 4x 1/2" innertubes and due to a measuring mistake i cut my pipe at 46cm instead of 57cm giving me 45cm of effective cooling length. Should stil be ok for full power 4500w at 1 to 2l/minut water. ( in the calculator it's not clear if i should use the 4500w or the effective heat +- 3000w? And if i should use ID or OD)

Some pictures. I cut the endplates and 3bafles from a 2" pipe. Put them in a vice for day to flatten them.
I should be ok except i'm scared of the soldering part.
Plan is: step a: solder 1/2" water pipe and triclamp errule, step b solder the vapor tubes to the plate and c: the endplate to the shell.
BUT my endplates are very thin and i'm scared of leaks..

Idea is dubbel solution: make a 'easy flenge' on the innertubes, and behind the endplates put a ring of copperwire to give more place for the solder. I'll be using lots of flux obv.

I'll be drilling the holes when i found a stepdrill.

Any more advice or errors before i continue?