Joining two 15mm pipes end to end

Anything cooling/condenser related.

Moderator: Site Moderator

niftyprose
Novice

Joining two 15mm pipes end to end

Post by niftyprose »

Hi guys,

I want to join two 15mm copper pipes end to end in such a way that they're demountable.

Triclamp seems to be the way to go, because the large flanges make the joint mechanically strong.

I've never worked with it before.

Is it possible to solder copper pipe to triclamp? What would be the best fitting to use?

Thanks for all advice, NP.
yakattack
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Joining two 15mm pipes end to end

Post by yakattack »

For 15 mm pipe you can use union. Has a bell and a flare end and screws together. Use a lead free one, and it's easy to solder on. Vapor and liquid seal is no issue. Safe for consumption and easy to assemble and disassemble.
HDNB wrote: The trick here is to learn what leads to a stalled mash....and quit doing that.
niftyprose
Novice

Post by niftyprose »

Hi Yakattack, thank you very much for the fast reply. Over here in the UK, union fittings are less common than in the US. Could you recommend a specific brand that I can pick up on eBay? Best, NP
niftyprose
Novice

Post by niftyprose »

...this one, f'rinstance, or would I better of with one of the three-piece type?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/End-Feed-Male ... XXVpuLrzjw" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow

Best, NP.
der wo
Master of Distillation

Post by der wo »

No. This: Edit: Yes, "the three-piece type"
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1-2-Copper-Un ... SwH71XOuyv" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow
1/2" is OD 15.3mm. So probably you will have to fill a small gap with solder. AFAIK there are no metric mesuarement copper unions unfortunately. Also no metric lead free brass ones.
In this way, imperialism brings catastrophe as a mode of existence back from the periphery of capitalist development to its point of departure. - Rosa Luxemburg
der wo