I need a Liebig pump that runs off a 12v car battery, help?

Anything cooling/condenser related.

Moderator: Site Moderator

BoredInAlaska
Novice

I need a Liebig pump that runs off a 12v car battery, help?

Post by BoredInAlaska »

I've been reading a few hours a day for a week and I still cant choose which pump to order, we have one store in my location and I'm not good at ordering stuff I don't know about online, at this point I'm very frustrated and confused. It has to run off a car battery and hook up to a garden hose so I can distill away from electricity. I don't want a worm, the ground is too uneven to deal with all that. Can someone recommend a pump for me to order? I've found this one but it seems overpowered but it's the cheapest one that comes with clips for the battery I've found. Would it drain my battery too fast?

https://www.harborfreight.com/12-volt-d ... gJ3ofD_BwE" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow
NZChris
Master of Distillation

Re: I need a Liebig pump that runs off a 12v car battery, he

Post by NZChris »

You didn't give us much info, so don't expect great answers.

When off grid, I control the condensate temperature using a solenoid controlled by a 12V temperature controller, gravity fed out of a reservoir which I top up by bucket or with a tiny 12V pump. That system uses as little water as possible without me manually changing the flow for every little change in the heat from the fire.
Yummyrum
Global moderator

Post by Yummyrum »

Like NZChris said , you haven‘t given us much to go by .How much the pump needs to pump will depend predominantly on how much heat you throw at the boiler . Then there is the question of how cold is your coolant water ? How efficient is your condenser ?

So most of these questions can be hard to give answers to .
But as a general rule , you will need about 6-10 times the coolant flow to condense the product .