Started building

In our view 30 gallons and under is considered hobby size. Do not bring anything larger than this to our site.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Lyonsie
Swill Maker

Started building

Post by Lyonsie »

Well I've started building my still today I'd hoped to upload pictures (but it wouldn't even let me attach one file size too large) I'm not very tech savvy so that was me lost straight away.
Anyway I have 2 kegs which I plan on welding together with the bottom end of one being the top of the still. The top part of this keg was cut off today along with the Base collar to give a nice rounded top to the still.
The bottom end of the other was also removed to facilitate the welding. This keg too will be upside down on the finished still with the original ferrule used as a drain valve.
I never would have thought working with stainless steel could be so hard. My poor grinder. Other than that everything went very well and i am extremly pleased with how the two cut peices married up after cutting.
Anyway my question is this given how hard a material it is to work with is it worth the effort trying to remove the ferrule from the discarded top end. Or has anyone any tips on how to get them out. Thanks in advance
Hound Dog
Master of Distillation

Re: Started building

Post by Hound Dog »

For a couple of bucks you can buy a 2 inch ferrule.

As for pictures, open one up on your computer using Paint. There is a button up top for resizing. Click on it and choose the largest size to be 800 then save it. Yes, you have to use your computer, not a phone..... They are easy to resize.
LM Still Operating Instructions
Cranky's New Distiller's Advice
Using Google Search

Drinking Rum before noon makes you a Pirate not an alcoholic.
Lyonsie
Swill Maker

Post by Lyonsie »

20161004_171337-240x427.jpg
20161004_191533-240x427.jpg
20161004_174507-240x427.jpg
20161004_183549-240x427.jpg