double boiler plan

In our view 30 gallons and under is considered hobby size. Do not bring anything larger than this to our site.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Fredistiller
Site Donor
Site Donor

double boiler plan

Post by Fredistiller »

Hi everyone,

I am planning of making my second potstill. As I run only brandy (later maybee some rhum) I would like to make a double boiler to prevent scorching. After reading almost all the topics in this forum about double boiler, I started drawing my plan.

I tried to make as much contact my with wash as possible. But with less volume possible.
For two reasons:
1. Minimise the weight, I had back surgery 25-30kg is the max for me. :?
2. Try to make "short" response time. (short in term of bouble boiler of course)

The idea is to have a "chamber" in the bottom with the heatings elements in it (2x1500W). I let 10mm space between the elements and the plate.
And a "layer" of 10mm all aroud the boiler at the same level than the wash. Is this enough to have a good circulation?

The volume of the double boiler is 9.5L of propylene glycol or oil.

Every plate would be 1,5 mm SS 304, tig welded. I also plan to insulate it very well with 50 mm Rockwool.

All the re/fill ports-drain needed are NOT drawn! I would do it later if this plan receive a GO from this forum.

I would really appreciate if you can have a look at my design. I know there are some drawings you can find in this forum, and I am not thinking I am smarter than everybody proposing this design. I tried to make the best /less bad design I could for the two reasons above. But if you have comments/questions please shoot!

I put two drawings: one pic in 3D and a sectional one in pdf.

Thanks in advance,

Fred.
Attachments
A view in 3D
A view in 3D
double boiler plan 2.pdf
A sectional drawing
(183.5 KiB) Downloaded 113 times
der wo
Master of Distillation

Re: double boiler plan

Post by der wo »