Fermax sugar wash

Post here whats not safe to do or use.

Moderator: Site Moderator

m314
Novice

Fermax sugar wash

Post by m314 »

I'm still fairly new at this. I've tried a few of the "tried and true" recipes with great success so far. Uncle Remus rice vodka, birdwatchers, deathwish wheat germ, a batch of rum I have going now.

A couple weeks ago I decided to try a 6 gallon wash with sugar and Fermax (yeast nutrient) along with bakers yeast. I noticed it smelled awful as soon as it started fermenting. I ran it through the pot still tonight. After the first distillation, it's concentrated awfulness. It might be the worst smelling and tasting liquor I've ever experienced. I'll run it through the reflux column at some point to try to remove the flavor.

Also, Uncle Remus rice vodka is awesome if you use white rice. I tried a 6 gallon batch with black rice from the Asian market. Bad idea. I have 6 quarts of low wines from the first distillation, only I'm afraid to open the jars to let the smell out. Black rice is evil in general and should not be fermented.
Kegg_jam
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Fermax sugar wash

Post by Kegg_jam »

Well, how much fermax and what was the starting gravity? Any PH buffer?

Perhaps the yeasties took a nice ole poop in your drink.
m314
Novice

Post by m314 »

I used 10 pounds of sugar, 5 teaspoons of fermax, 1 teaspoon of citric acid, and 5 teaspoons of baker's yeast with enough water to fill up a 6 gallon carboy. I didn't measure the starting gravity. I ran it at 0.990 after the bubbles had slowed down to maybe one every 10 minutes.

I was hoping this would be a cheap and easy way to make a good neutral. It worked; I mean it all fermented in a reasonable time. It just smells and tastes awful after the first distillation.