A little spoon feeding *For New & Novice Distillers

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

cranky
Master of Distillation

A little spoon feeding *For New & Novice Distillers

Post by cranky »

Welcome to my spoon feeding thread. This thread came about as the result of me getting tired of telling new members where to go to find everything they need to know just to get started. I have been debating posting it for many months now and finally decided to do so simply so I can say to any new members "Go read and follow this thread" and save myself a lot of effort. If others wish to do the same feel free to do so. If you feel I missed anything also feel free to add whatever you feel is necessary. Thank you, now on to the spoon feeding.
Cranky

Many new members here are often excited about signing up and are very excited about their new activity. They want to rush in and get started making something as fast, and often, as cheaply as they can. Then they come here and start asking the same questions that have been asked a few thousand times and more times than not they are told by other members that they need to do the required research and we don't spoon feed anybody. Many people have links in their signatures that refer the novice to required reading and a few other threads that get people pointed in the right direction and that is a good thing but sometimes even that falls a bit short mainly because a lot of the information these novices need is quite spread out through several areas. So I was thinking, maybe a bit of spoon feeding isn't necessarily a bad thing. That's why I decided to try to make a post that is a bit more comprehensive about pointing out where to go besides saying " Do your research" I am also trying to list the various outdated parts of the parent site that often get the novices confused or admonished.